Key Takeaways
  • Retatrutide is an investigational molecule. As of September 2026 it is not approved by the FDA, the EMA or any other regulator, and Eli Lilly has publicly indicated a first regulatory submission is planned rather than completed.
  • Gastrointestinal events dominate the reported safety profile. In the phase 2 obesity trial, nausea ranged from 14% in the lowest trial arm to 60% in the highest, against 11% with placebo.
  • These events clustered during the escalation phase, were predominantly mild to moderate, and were partially reduced when participants started at a lower entry amount rather than a higher one.
  • Resting heart rate rose in proportion to the amount administered, peaked at week 24 and then declined at weeks 36 and 48. Reported arrhythmias were mild to moderate apart from one severe QT prolongation event.
  • Cutaneous hyperesthesia and skin sensitivity were reported in 7% of retatrutide participants versus 1% with placebo, and dysesthesia reappeared in the phase 3 type 2 diabetes trial at 2.3% to 4.5% versus 0%.
  • Withdrawal for adverse events reached 6% to 16% across phase 2 obesity arms with 0% on placebo, and 2.2% to 5.1% in the published phase 3 diabetes trial.
  • Nothing published so far characterizes safety beyond roughly 80 weeks, and vials sold as research material fall outside any of this evidence because their identity, purity and sterility are unverified.

What do we actually know about retatrutide safety in 2026?

Retatrutide (development code LY3437943) is a single synthetic peptide that activates three receptors at once: the glucose-dependent insulinotropic polypeptide receptor (GIP), the glucagon-like peptide 1 receptor (GLP-1) and the glucagon receptor. That third arm is what separates it from the molecules already on pharmacy shelves, and it is also the reason its adverse effect profile cannot simply be assumed to copy theirs. Background on the receptor family is covered in our GLP-1 reference guide, and the molecule itself in the retatrutide guide.

The first point to settle is regulatory. As of September 2026, retatrutide holds no marketing authorization anywhere in the world. It is an investigational medicine studied under clinical trial protocols and, since mid-2026, a pre-approval expanded access programme. Public reporting indicates that the sponsor intends to file a regulatory submission in 2027, which means no approval decision has yet been made and no official prescribing information exists. Any summary of its safety therefore rests entirely on trial publications and conference readouts, not on a regulator-reviewed label.

Four bodies of published evidence carry most of the weight. The phase 2 obesity trial (338 adults, 48 weeks) appeared in the New England Journal of Medicine in 2023. The phase 2 type 2 diabetes trial (281 adults, 36 weeks, with dulaglutide as an active comparator) appeared in The Lancet the same year. A phase 2a substudy in metabolic dysfunction-associated steatotic liver disease was published in Nature Medicine in 2024. In June 2026, the first phase 3 trial to reach peer-reviewed publication, TRANSCEND-T2D-1 (537 adults with type 2 diabetes), appeared in The Lancet.

The large registrational obesity trials, TRIUMPH-1, TRIUMPH-2, TRIUMPH-3 and TRIUMPH-4, are a different case. Their topline results were announced by the sponsor during 2026, and TRIUMPH-1 data were presented at the American Diabetes Association Scientific Sessions in June 2026. At the time of writing we could not verify a peer-reviewed publication of the full TRIUMPH-1 safety dataset in the PubMed index. Where figures from that trial appear below, they are flagged as conference and sponsor-reported rather than peer-reviewed, because the distinction genuinely matters when reading percentages.

This article is educational and is not medical advice. It reports frequencies observed inside controlled trials. It does not describe how anyone should use retatrutide, and nothing here should be read as a recommendation to obtain or self-administer it. Speak with a qualified clinician about any metabolic medicine.

Which adverse effects were reported most often?

Across every published retatrutide trial the answer is the same: gastrointestinal events. Nausea, diarrhea, vomiting and constipation were the most frequently reported adverse events in the phase 2 obesity trial, they were more common with retatrutide than with placebo, and they were more common in the arms that reached higher amounts than in those that did not.

The overall picture in the phase 2 obesity trial was that adverse events of any kind occurred in 70% of placebo participants and in 73% to 94% of retatrutide participants, with the highest incidence in the arms that reached 8 mg and 12 mg. The table below reports the published frequencies. These are observations from specific trial arms, not guidance of any kind.

Adverse effectRetatrutide arms, 48 weeksPlacebo
Any adverse event73% to 94% (highest in the 8 mg and 12 mg arms)70%
Nausea14% (1 mg arm) up to 60% (12 mg arm)11%
Vomitingup to 26% (12 mg arm)1%
Constipation11% (12 mg arm)3%
Cutaneous hyperesthesia and skin sensitivity7% (all retatrutide participants pooled)1%
Withdrawal because of an adverse event6% to 16%0%

The phase 2 type 2 diabetes trial reported the same pattern with a useful extra reference point, because it included an active comparator. Mild to moderate gastrointestinal adverse events were recorded in 67 of 190 retatrutide participants (35%), ranging from 6 of 47 participants (13%) in the 0.5 mg arm to 12 of 24 participants (50%) in the 8 mg fast-escalation arm. The placebo group reported 6 of 45 (13%), and the dulaglutide 1.5 mg group reported 16 of 46 (35%). In other words, at the lower end retatrutide looked like placebo, in the middle it looked like an established GLP-1 agonist, and at the top of the escalation range it clearly exceeded both.

Two details deserve emphasis before anyone reads a single percentage as a verdict. First, these trials were small by phase 3 standards, so a difference of one or two participants moves a percentage several points. Second, an adverse event recorded in a trial is an event that happened during the trial, not necessarily an event caused by the molecule, which is exactly why the placebo column exists.

Why do digestive symptoms cluster during the escalation period?

The phase 2 obesity publication is explicit on this point: gastrointestinal adverse events occurred primarily during dose escalation, were predominantly mild to moderate in severity, were more frequent in the higher arms, and were the most common reason participants left the trial. They were not evenly spread across 48 weeks. They concentrated in the weeks when the amount administered was still stepping upward.

The pharmacology makes this intelligible. GLP-1 receptor activation slows gastric emptying and acts on brainstem circuits that generate nausea. GIP receptor activation appears to modulate that nausea signal rather than amplify it, which is one hypothesis for why dual agonists are tolerated better than their potency alone would predict. Glucagon receptor activation adds hepatic and energy-expenditure effects that have their own tolerability consequences. Each step upward presents the gut and the brainstem with a new signal intensity, and adaptation takes time. Once the amount stops changing, the system has a chance to habituate.

The trial design itself produced direct evidence for this. In the phase 2 obesity trial, the same target amounts were reached from two different entry points, and the gastrointestinal event burden was partially mitigated by the lower starting amount (2 mg rather than 4 mg). The phase 2 diabetes trial showed the same logic from the other direction: the highest gastrointestinal rate in the whole study, 50%, belonged to the arm that escalated fast to 8 mg, not to the arm that reached the highest final amount.

This has a practical reading that stops well short of a protocol. Tolerability in these trials was a function of how fast the amount changed, not only of where it ended up. That is a finding about pharmacology, not a set of instructions, and the published trials did their escalation under physician supervision with protocol-defined rules and antiemetic availability. Questions about reconstitution arithmetic and trial arm conversions belong in our dedicated retatrutide reference tool, and the time course of effects is covered in retatrutide results timeline.

It is also worth noting what the trials did not find. There is no published evidence that the gastrointestinal events observed with retatrutide reflect structural gut injury. They were, in the aggregate, transient and reversible. That is reassuring about mechanism without being reassuring about individual experience, since a single severe episode of vomiting with dehydration can be consequential in a person with diabetes, kidney impairment or concurrent infection.

What did the trials report about heart rate and rhythm?

Retatrutide produced increases in heart rate that tracked the amount administered. The phase 2 obesity publication describes a dose-dependent rise that peaked at week 24 and then declined at weeks 36 and 48. The pattern is notable in two ways: it was graded, meaning higher arms showed larger increases, and it was not sustained, meaning the peak came in the middle of the trial rather than at the end.

We have deliberately not attached a single beats-per-minute figure to this finding. Secondary summaries circulate specific numbers, but we were unable to verify a precise mean change against the primary publication, and a wrong number in a cardiovascular context is worse than no number. What the primary source supports is the direction, the dose-dependence and the timing.

An increase in resting heart rate is a recognized class effect of GLP-1 receptor agonists, and glucagon receptor agonism adds its own chronotropic and energy-expenditure contribution. The mechanism is not fully settled and is likely to combine direct sinoatrial effects, autonomic shifts and the physiological consequences of rapid weight reduction. Importantly, an average rise across a trial population says nothing about the individual at the tail of the distribution, which is the person a clinician actually worries about.

On arrhythmias, the phase 2 obesity trial reported that cardiac arrhythmia events were mild to moderate in severity, with one exception: a severe adverse event of prolonged QT syndrome in a participant who was receiving ondansetron. That detail is instructive rather than alarming. Ondansetron, a common antiemetic, itself prolongs the QT interval, so the event sits at the intersection of two exposures rather than being attributable to retatrutide alone. It also illustrates a real-world hazard: a molecule that causes nausea invites antiemetic co-administration, and antiemetics carry cardiac considerations of their own.

No increase in major adverse cardiovascular events was observed in the phase 2 programme, but phase 2 trials are neither large enough nor long enough to answer that question. The dedicated cardiovascular and kidney outcomes trial in the retatrutide programme is designed for exactly that purpose and has not reported. Until it does, the honest position is that heart rate effects are established and clinical cardiovascular consequences are unresolved.

What are the skin sensitivity and dysesthesia reports?

One finding in the retatrutide programme has no real counterpart in the semaglutide or tirzepatide literature: cutaneous hyperesthesia and dysesthesia. In the phase 2 obesity trial, cutaneous hyperesthesia and skin sensitivity adverse events were reported in 7% of participants who received retatrutide compared with 1% of those who received placebo.

Hyperesthesia means heightened sensitivity to touch. Dysesthesia means an altered, often unpleasant sensation in response to a stimulus that would not normally be unpleasant, sometimes described by participants as tingling, burning or skin that feels sore to light contact. These are sensory phenomena rather than visible skin lesions, which is why they are easy to miss in a summary that only lists rashes and injection site reactions.

The signal did not disappear when the programme moved to phase 3. In the published TRANSCEND-T2D-1 trial, dysesthesia was reported in 4.5%, 2.3% and 4.4% of the retatrutide 4 mg, 9 mg and 12 mg arms respectively, against 0% on placebo. The frequencies are low in absolute terms, and notably they did not increase in step with the amount administered, which weakens a simple exposure-response interpretation. What they do establish is reproducibility across two independent trials in two different populations.

The mechanism is unexplained in the published literature. Glucagon receptor expression in peripheral tissues, effects on sensory nerve fibres, and metabolic changes accompanying rapid weight reduction have all been raised as possibilities, but none has been demonstrated. The trial reports describe these events as generally mild to moderate, with most resolving while participants remained in the study. That is the full extent of what is known, and a comprehensive characterization will require the larger phase 3 safety datasets once they are published in full.

For a broader view of how sensory and dermatologic events sit within the incretin class, our overview of GLP-1 side effects puts these frequencies in context.

How many participants stopped because of adverse effects?

Withdrawal for adverse events is the most useful single tolerability number in any trial, because it aggregates severity, duration and the participant's own judgment into one figure. For retatrutide the published figures differ substantially between the phase 2 obesity trial and the phase 3 diabetes trial, and understanding why is more informative than either number alone.

In the phase 2 obesity trial, discontinuation of study drug because of an adverse event occurred in 6% to 16% of retatrutide participants and in none of the placebo participants. Gastrointestinal events were the most common cause. In the published phase 3 TRANSCEND-T2D-1 trial, the corresponding figures were considerably lower, as the table shows.

Adverse effect, TRANSCEND-T2D-1 (phase 3, type 2 diabetes, peer-reviewed)4 mg arm9 mg arm12 mg armPlacebo
Nausea16.4%19.5%26.5%3.7%
Diarrhea18.7%26.3%22.8%4.5%
Vomiting15.7%15.0%17.6%2.2%
Dysesthesia4.5%2.3%4.4%0%
Urinary tract infection0.7%1.5%2.9%0%
Withdrawal because of an adverse event2.2%4.5%5.1%0.0%

For the registrational obesity trial the figures reported at the ADA 2026 Scientific Sessions and in the sponsor's announcement, which we could not verify against a peer-reviewed publication at the time of writing, were nausea 28.6%, 38.4% and 42.4% across the 4 mg, 9 mg and 12 mg arms versus 14.8% on placebo; diarrhea 25.2%, 34.1% and 32.0% versus 13.5%; constipation 23.8%, 25.9% and 26.1% versus 10.9%; vomiting 10.6%, 22.8% and 25.3% versus 4.8%; and withdrawal for adverse events 4.1%, 6.9% and 11.3% versus 4.9%. Treat these as provisional until the full dataset is published.

Three structural reasons explain why the phase 2 obesity numbers sit higher. Phase 2 was a dose-ranging study, so some arms escalated in ways later abandoned. Its population was smaller, which inflates the influence of a handful of participants. And the later trials benefited from escalation schedules refined using exactly the phase 2 tolerability data. The lesson is not that one figure is right and the other wrong, but that tolerability in this programme was substantially shaped by trial design.

How does tolerability compare with semaglutide and tirzepatide?

This is the question most readers arrive with, and it is the one where cross-trial comparison is least trustworthy. Retatrutide has never been compared head to head against semaglutide in a published trial. A head-to-head trial against tirzepatide exists in the registry but has not reported. Every comparison below is therefore indirect, across trials that differed in population, duration, escalation schedule and how adverse events were solicited and coded.

With that caveat stated plainly, the broad shape is familiar. Semaglutide 2.4 mg in the STEP 1 trial and tirzepatide in SURMOUNT-1 both produced gastrointestinal events as their dominant adverse effect class, both concentrated those events during escalation, and both reported them as predominantly mild to moderate. Retatrutide's gastrointestinal profile falls inside the same family rather than outside it. The published retatrutide type 2 diabetes trial offers the only in-trial anchor: its pooled mild to moderate gastrointestinal rate of 35% matched the dulaglutide 1.5 mg comparator arm at 35%, while placebo sat at 13%.

Two areas do look different rather than merely more or less intense. The first is heart rate: the magnitude of increase reported for retatrutide appears larger than what is typically described for semaglutide or tirzepatide, which is biologically coherent given the additional glucagon receptor arm. The second is cutaneous hyperesthesia and dysesthesia, which is not a prominent finding in the semaglutide or tirzepatide literature and which has now appeared in two independent retatrutide trials. A focused comparison of the two Lilly molecules is available in retatrutide versus tirzepatide.

A final point of fairness. Retatrutide's efficacy signals are larger than those of the approved agonists, and in incretin pharmacology adverse effect burden and weight reduction tend to travel together. Comparing a side effect table without also comparing the magnitude of effect produces a misleading picture in either direction. Nothing in the published record resolves whether retatrutide's tolerability is better or worse than tirzepatide's at comparable weight reduction, because no trial has yet asked that question.

Which known GLP-1 class risks apply?

Beyond what retatrutide's own trials observed, there are risks associated with the incretin class as a whole. Whether each one transfers to a triple agonist is an open question, but they form part of any honest risk discussion because the GLP-1 receptor component is shared.

Gallbladder and biliary disease. This is the best documented class risk. A systematic review and meta-analysis of 76 randomized trials with 103,371 participants, published in JAMA Internal Medicine in 2022, found that randomization to a GLP-1 receptor agonist was associated with an increased risk of gallbladder or biliary disease, with a relative risk of 1.37 (95% confidence interval 1.23 to 1.52). The association was stronger at higher amounts, with longer exposure, and when the indication was weight reduction rather than glycemic control. Rapid weight reduction itself promotes gallstone formation, so the mechanism is probably partly pharmacological and partly a consequence of the weight change.

Acute pancreatitis. This risk is widely discussed and poorly supported by randomized evidence. A systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials published in Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism in 2025 examined pancreatitis and pancreatic cancer rates across GLP-1 receptor agonists and did not demonstrate a consistent increase in randomized comparisons. A living meta-analysis of 31 placebo-controlled trials reported in 2026 similarly found no significant increase. Individual case reports exist, the events are rare, and randomized trials are underpowered for rare outcomes, so the current position is best stated as no demonstrated increase rather than proof of no risk.

Other class considerations. Thyroid C-cell tumors in rodent studies underpin a warning that applies to several approved GLP-1 agonists; whether any equivalent applies to retatrutide cannot be stated because no regulator has reviewed and labelled it. Delayed gastric emptying has implications for anesthesia and for the absorption of other oral medicines. Hypoglycemia risk rises when an incretin agonist is combined with insulin or a sulfonylurea. The broader class picture is set out in our article on GLP-1 side effects.

The glucagon receptor arm introduces considerations the class literature does not cover at all: hepatic glucose output, amino acid handling and effects on blood pressure and heart rate. The phase 2a trial in metabolic dysfunction-associated steatotic liver disease published in Nature Medicine in 2024 provides early liver-directed data, but glucagon-specific long-term safety in humans remains thinly characterized.

What remains unknown about long-term safety and lean mass?

The honest answer is that the unknowns are larger than the knowns, and they are not the kind of unknowns that patience alone resolves quickly.

Duration. The longest published retatrutide exposure is 48 weeks in phase 2, extending to roughly 80 weeks in the phase 3 obesity readouts. Obesity and type 2 diabetes are lifelong conditions. Nothing published describes what happens to heart rate, bone, kidney function, gallbladder incidence or sensory symptoms over five or ten years of continuous exposure. The dedicated cardiovascular and kidney outcomes trial is designed to address part of this and has not reported.

Lean mass. Because retatrutide produces larger weight reduction than the approved agonists, the composition of that loss matters more, not less. A body composition substudy of the phase 2 type 2 diabetes trial, published in The Lancet Diabetes and Endocrinology in 2025, used DXA in 189 participants over 36 weeks. Fat mass reduction was graded by amount administered, reaching 26.1% in the 8 mg arm and 23.2% in the 12 mg arm, against 4.5% with placebo and 2.6% with dulaglutide. The authors reported that the proportion of lean mass loss relative to total weight loss was comparable to other obesity pharmacotherapies. That is a genuinely reassuring result, with two limits: DXA does not measure muscle quality or physical function, and 36 weeks in 189 people cannot speak to sarcopenia risk in an older population over years.

Weight regain and withdrawal. No published trial characterizes what happens physiologically when retatrutide is stopped after prolonged exposure. Evidence from other incretin agonists points toward substantial regain, but retatrutide-specific data are absent.

Populations excluded from the trials. The published trials enrolled adults meeting defined criteria. People with type 1 diabetes, significant kidney or hepatic impairment, prior pancreatitis, pregnancy or advanced age were variously excluded, so the reported frequencies simply do not apply to them. Interactions with other medicines have not been systematically characterized in public literature, and gastric emptying effects make that a substantive rather than theoretical gap.

Our results timeline article tracks how these evidence gaps are filling as readouts arrive.

Why do vials sold for research carry their own risks?

Everything above describes retatrutide as studied in clinical trials: a pharmaceutical-grade molecule of verified identity and purity, administered under medical supervision, with adverse events actively solicited and coded. A vial bought online and labelled for research use shares none of those properties, and that distinction is not a formality.

Because retatrutide has no marketing authorization anywhere, it cannot be legally supplied for human use. Products circulating outside trials are sold as research chemicals, which places them outside pharmaceutical manufacturing standards. The concrete consequences are identity (is the peptide in the vial retatrutide at all), purity (which related peptides, truncated fragments or residual synthesis solvents are present), actual content (does a vial labelled 10 mg contain 10 mg), and sterility and endotoxin load in a product intended for injection. A 2026 narrative review in Cureus on unregulated peptide use described precisely this convergence of gray-market access, self-administration, informal titration and weak pharmacovigilance as a public health concern.

The clinical literature has begun to record the consequences. A published case report describes a man in his mid-thirties with longstanding type 1 diabetes who developed severe vomiting, diarrhea, hyperglycemia, ketonemia and acute kidney injury after self-administering an online-purchased product marketed as retatrutide, with concurrent Shigella gastroenteritis. Peak ketonemia reached 4.3 mmol/L and he required intravenous insulin and fluids. The report's own stated limitation is the most important part: the product was never analytically verified to contain retatrutide. When identity is unknown, causality is unknowable, and so is any meaningful risk assessment.

This has a direct bearing on how the tables in this article should be read. A person taking an unverified vial cannot map their experience onto a trial percentage, because they do not know what they received or how much. A frequency of 26.5% for nausea in a phase 3 arm is a statement about a known quantity of a known molecule in a monitored population. It is not transferable to an unverified product.

If you are evaluating third-party analytical documentation, our guide on how to read a peptide certificate of analysis explains what a COA does and does not establish, including why a purity figure for one batch says nothing about the vial in your hand. Our overview of where retatrutide is sold covers the supplier landscape for informational purposes only. Neither is an endorsement of use. Retatrutide is not approved for human use in any jurisdiction, legal status varies by country, and the only setting in which it has an established safety profile is a supervised clinical trial. Consult a healthcare professional before considering any metabolic medicine.

Recommended products

Research peptides selected for quality and purity:

New
Retatrutide

Retatrutide

Metabolic Peptide

Test your knowledge

Quick quiz · 6 questions

🧪

Peptide Lab: free calculator & tracker

Calculate your reconstitution, track your peptides and injections. Free, no credit card required.

Discover Peptide Lab →

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the most common side effect reported with retatrutide?
Nausea, and more broadly gastrointestinal events including diarrhea, vomiting and constipation. In the phase 2 obesity trial published in 2023, nausea ranged from 14% in the lowest trial arm to 60% in the highest, compared with 11% on placebo. In the published phase 3 type 2 diabetes trial, nausea ranged from 16.4% to 26.5% across the three retatrutide arms versus 3.7% on placebo. These events were described as predominantly mild to moderate and occurred mainly while the administered amount was still being increased.
Is retatrutide approved by the FDA or the EMA?
No. As of September 2026, retatrutide holds no marketing authorization from the FDA, the EMA or any other regulator. It remains an investigational medicine available through clinical trials and a pre-approval expanded access programme, and public reporting indicates the sponsor plans a first regulatory submission in 2027. Because no regulator has completed a review, no official prescribing information or approved safety labelling exists for it.
Does retatrutide raise heart rate?
The published trials reported increases in resting heart rate that were graded by the amount administered. In the phase 2 obesity trial, heart rate rose in a dose-dependent manner, peaked at week 24 and then declined at weeks 36 and 48. We have not attached a specific beats-per-minute figure here because we could not verify a precise mean change against the primary publication. An increase in heart rate is a recognized effect of GLP-1 receptor agonists, and glucagon receptor activation adds a further contribution. Whether this translates into clinical cardiovascular consequences is unresolved and is the subject of a dedicated outcomes trial that has not reported.
What is the dysesthesia reported with retatrutide?
Dysesthesia is an altered and often unpleasant skin sensation in response to a stimulus that would not normally be unpleasant, sometimes described as tingling, burning or skin that feels sore to light touch. In the phase 2 obesity trial, cutaneous hyperesthesia and skin sensitivity events were reported in 7% of retatrutide participants versus 1% on placebo. In the published phase 3 type 2 diabetes trial, dysesthesia appeared in 4.5%, 2.3% and 4.4% of the three retatrutide arms versus 0% on placebo. The mechanism is unexplained in the published literature, and the events were reported as generally mild to moderate with most resolving during the trial.
How many people stopped taking retatrutide because of side effects in the trials?
It depends heavily on which trial. In the phase 2 obesity trial, 6% to 16% of retatrutide participants withdrew because of an adverse event, compared with none in the placebo group, with gastrointestinal events the most common cause. In the peer-reviewed phase 3 type 2 diabetes trial the rates were markedly lower at 2.2%, 4.5% and 5.1% across the three arms versus 0.0% on placebo. Part of that difference reflects refined escalation schedules in the later trials, which were themselves designed using the phase 2 tolerability data.
Are retatrutide side effects worse than those of semaglutide or tirzepatide?
No published trial has compared retatrutide head to head against semaglutide, and the head-to-head trial against tirzepatide has not reported, so any comparison is indirect and unreliable. The general shape of the gastrointestinal profile falls within the same family as the approved agonists, and in the phase 2 diabetes trial the pooled rate of mild to moderate gastrointestinal events matched the dulaglutide comparator arm. Two findings do look distinctive rather than merely more intense: the magnitude of heart rate increase, and cutaneous hyperesthesia and dysesthesia, which are not prominent in the semaglutide or tirzepatide literature.
Does retatrutide cause muscle loss?
A body composition substudy of the phase 2 type 2 diabetes trial, published in 2025, used DXA scanning in 189 participants over 36 weeks. Fat mass reduction reached 26.1% in the 8 mg arm and 23.2% in the 12 mg arm against 4.5% on placebo, and the authors reported that lean mass loss as a proportion of total weight loss was comparable to other obesity pharmacotherapies. Two limits apply: DXA does not measure muscle quality or physical function, and 36 weeks in 189 participants cannot address sarcopenia risk over years or in older populations.
Do the trial side effect percentages apply to retatrutide bought online?
No, and this is an important limitation. Every percentage in this article comes from a trial using pharmaceutical-grade material of verified identity and content, administered under medical supervision with adverse events systematically collected. Products sold as research material are not manufactured to those standards, so their identity, purity, actual content and sterility are unverified. A published case report of a person hospitalized after self-administering an online-purchased product marketed as retatrutide notes explicitly that the product was never analytically verified to contain retatrutide, which makes any causal or risk assessment impossible. Retatrutide is not approved for human use in any country. This article is educational only, and you should consult a healthcare professional.

Sources

  1. Jastreboff AM, Kaplan LM, Frías JP, et al. (2023). Triple-Hormone-Receptor Agonist Retatrutide for Obesity: A Phase 2 Trial. New England Journal of Medicine.
  2. Rosenstock J, Frías J, Jastreboff AM, et al. (2023). Retatrutide, a GIP, GLP-1 and glucagon receptor agonist, for people with type 2 diabetes: a randomised, double-blind, placebo and active-controlled, parallel-group, phase 2 trial conducted in the USA. The Lancet, 402(10401):529-544.
  3. Bajaj HS, et al. (2026). Efficacy and safety of retatrutide, a GIP, GLP-1, and glucagon receptor agonist, in people with type 2 diabetes and inadequate glycaemic control with diet and exercise (TRANSCEND-T2D-1): a double-blind, randomised, phase 3 trial. The Lancet.
  4. Sanyal AJ, Kaplan LM, Frías JP, et al. (2024). Triple hormone receptor agonist retatrutide for metabolic dysfunction-associated steatotic liver disease: a randomized phase 2a trial. Nature Medicine, 30:2037-2048.
  5. Retatrutide body composition substudy investigators (2025). Effects of retatrutide on body composition in people with type 2 diabetes: a substudy of a phase 2, double-blind, parallel-group, placebo-controlled, randomised trial. The Lancet Diabetes and Endocrinology.
  6. TRIUMPH trial investigators (2025). Retatrutide for the treatment of obesity, obstructive sleep apnea and knee osteoarthritis: Rationale and design of the TRIUMPH registrational clinical trials. Indexed in PubMed.
  7. Eli Lilly and Company (2026). Lilly's triple agonist, retatrutide, delivered powerful weight loss in pivotal Phase 3 obesity trial (TRIUMPH-1 topline announcement; peer-reviewed publication pending at the time of writing). Company press release.
  8. He L, Wang J, Ping F, et al. (2022). Association of Glucagon-Like Peptide-1 Receptor Agonist Use With Risk of Gallbladder and Biliary Diseases: A Systematic Review and Meta-analysis of Randomized Clinical Trials. JAMA Internal Medicine, 182(5):513-519.
  9. Wen X, et al. (2025). Evaluating the Rates of Pancreatitis and Pancreatic Cancer Among GLP-1 Receptor Agonists: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis of Randomised Controlled Trials. Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism.
  10. Hailu KT, Abriha FN, Duguma YM, et al. (2026). Unregulated Peptide Use in the Age of Biohacking: Digital Promotion, Gray-Market Access, and Emerging Public Health Risks. Cureus, 18(6):e110657.
  11. Case report (authors listed in source) (2025). Online-Sourced Retatrutide Complicating Impending Diabetic Ketoacidosis in a Patient With Type 1 Diabetes and Concurrent Shigella Gastroenteritis. Indexed in PubMed Central.
  12. Jastreboff AM, Aronne LJ, Ahmad NN, et al. (2022). Tirzepatide Once Weekly for the Treatment of Obesity (SURMOUNT-1). New England Journal of Medicine.
  13. Wilding JPH, Batterham RL, Calanna S, et al. (2021). Once-Weekly Semaglutide in Adults with Overweight or Obesity (STEP 1). New England Journal of Medicine, 384(11):989-1002.

This content is for informational and educational purposes only. It does not constitute medical advice. Consult a healthcare professional before making any decisions. Read our full medical disclaimer